US Open Winners List: Most Successful Men’s & Women’s Tennis Player?

With the 141st season live in action right now, the players will be aiming for the prestigious US Open Title. Over the years, US Open has witnessed many great legends grace the pitch and win the tournament. We look at the list of all the US Open winners since the Open era.

US open is the last of the four Grand Slams held every year in August. The US Open Tennis Grand Slam concludes the sequence of the four major and prestigious tournaments of tennis every year. The US Open is played on a hard court surface, and the tournament is hosted every year in the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center.

US Open Women’s Winners List

1968Virginia WadeBillie Jean King
1969Margaret CourtNancy Richey
1970Margaret CourtRosemary Casals
1971Billie Jean KingRosemary Casals
1972Billie Jean KingKerry Melville
1973Margaret CourtEvonne Goolagong
1974Billie Jean KingEvonne Goolagong
1975Chris EvertEvonne Goolagong
1976Chris EvertEvonne Goolagong Cawley
1977Chris EvertWendy Turnbull
1978Chris EvertPam Shriver
1979Tracy AustinChris Evert
1980Chris EvertHana Mandlíková
1981Tracy AustinMartina Navratilova[g]
1982Chris EvertHana Mandlíková
1983Martina NavratilovaChris Evert
1984Martina NavratilovaChris Evert
1985Hana MandlíkováMartina Navratilova
1986Martina NavratilovaHelena Suková
1987Martina NavratilovaSteffi Graf
1988Steffi GrafGabriela Sabatini
1989Steffi GrafMartina Navratilova
1990Gabriela SabatiniSteffi Graf
1991Monica SelesMartina Navratilova
1992Monica SelesArantxa Sánchez Vicario
1993Steffi GrafHelena Suková
1994Arantxa Sánchez VicarioSteffi Graf
1995Steffi GrafMonica Seles
1996Steffi GrafMonica Seles
1997Martina HingisVenus Williams
1998Lindsay DavenportMartina Hingis
1999Serena WilliamsMartina Hingis
2000Venus WilliamsLindsay Davenport
2001Venus WilliamsSerena Williams
2002Serena WilliamsVenus Williams
2003Justine HeninKim Clijsters
2004Svetlana KuznetsovaElena Dementieva
2005Kim ClijstersMary Pierce
2006Maria SharapovaJustine Henin
2007Justine HeninSvetlana Kuznetsova
2008Serena WilliamsJelena Janković
2009Kim ClijstersCaroline Wozniacki
2010Kim ClijstersVera Zvonareva
2011Samantha StosurSerena Williams
2012Serena WilliamsVictoria Azarenka
2013Serena WilliamsVictoria Azarenka
2014Serena WilliamsCaroline Wozniacki
2015Flavia PennettaRoberta Vinci
2016Angelique KerberKarolína Plíšková
2017Sloane StephensMadison Keys
2018Naomi OsakaSerena Williams
2019Bianca AndreescuSerena Williams
2020Naomi OsakaVictoria Azarenka

US Open Men’s Winners List

1968Arthur AsheTom Okker
1969Rod LaverTony Roche
1970Ken RosewallTony Roche
1971Stan SmithJan Kodeš
1972Ilie NăstaseArthur Ashe
1973John NewcombeJan Kodeš
1974Jimmy ConnorsKen Rosewall
1975Manuel OrantesJimmy Connors
1976Jimmy ConnorsBjörn Borg
1977Guillermo VilasJimmy Connors
1978Jimmy ConnorsBjörn Borg
1979John McEnroeVitas Gerulaitis
1980John McEnroeBjörn Borg
1981John McEnroeBjörn Borg
1982Jimmy ConnorsIvan Lendl
1983Jimmy ConnorsIvan Lendl
1984John McEnroeIvan Lendl
1985Ivan LendlJohn McEnroe
1986Ivan LendlMiloslav Mečíř
1987Ivan LendlMats Wilander
1988Mats WilanderIvan Lendl
1989Boris BeckerIvan Lendl
1990Pete SamprasAndre Agassi
1991Stefan EdbergJim Courier
1992Stefan EdbergPete Sampras
1993Pete SamprasCédric Pioline
1994Andre AgassiMichael Stich
1995Pete SamprasAndre Agassi
1996Pete SamprasMichael Chang
1997Patrick RafterGreg Rusedski
1998Patrick RafterMark Philippoussis
1999Andre AgassiTodd Martin
2000Marat SafinPete Sampras
2001Lleyton HewittPete Sampras
2002Pete SamprasAndre Agassi
2003Andy RoddickJuan Carlos Ferrero
2004Roger FedererLleyton Hewitt
2005Roger FedererAndre Agassi
2006Roger FedererAndy Roddick
2007Roger FedererNovak Djokovic
2008Roger FedererAndy Murray
2009Juan Martín del PotroRoger Federer
2010Rafael NadalNovak Djokovic
2011Novak DjokovicRafael Nadal
2012Andy MurrayNovak Djokovic
2013Rafael NadalNovak Djokovic
2014Marin ČilićKei Nishikori
2015Novak DjokovicRoger Federer
2016Stan WawrinkaNovak Djokovic
2017Rafael NadalKevin Anderson
2018Novak DjokovicJuan Martín del Potro
2019Rafael NadalDaniil Medvedev
2020Dominic ThiemAlexander Zverev

Who is the most successful US Open Tennis Player?

Chris Evert and Serena Williams are the joint-most successful Women’s players with six US Open titles to their name.

Jimmy Connors, Pete Sampras, and Roger Federer have won five US Open Titles, making the trio the joint-most successful Men’s US Open Players.

Who has won the most consecutive titles?

Roger Federer is the player with the most consecutive titles as he won five back to back US Open tournaments from 2004 to 2008.

Who are the US Open defending champions currently?

Dominic Thiem is the Men’s defending champion, whereas Naomi Osaka is the Women’s defending champion after winning the US Open 2023.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept