French Open Winners List

The 2024 edition of the French Open men’s singles title won by Tennis star Novak Djokovic who claimed his 19th Grand Slam singles title defeating Stefanos Tsitsipas in the final. The women’s singles championship won by Barbora Krejčíková defeating Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova. Here’s the list of all the French Open winners for men’s and women’s singles so far.

French Open 2024 men's singles title won by Tennis star Novak Djokovic

The French Open, commonly known as Roland-Garros, is a tennis tournament held each year close to May at the Stade Roland-Garros in Paris, France. French Open is definitely one of the most awaited tennis events of the year as it is the second Grand slam of the year as well as the only Grand slam played on clay court. 

The tournament was founded 129 years ago in 1891, and the 2024 Roland-Garros will be the 125th edition of the French Open. Women’s singles were introduced to the tournament in 1897 with only four entries, and the mixed doubles event was included since 1902 and the women’s doubles in 1907.

The French Open is believed to be one of the toughest grand slams to conquer as the best of five sets format on a clay court makes the competition very tiring, and only the fittest could triumph.

French Open Winners List 2024

YearMen’s SinglesWomen’s Singles
1968Ken RosewallNancy Richey
1969Rod LaverMargaret Court
1970Jan KodešMargaret Court
1971Jan KodešEvonne Goolagong[i]
1972Andrés GimenoBillie Jean King
1973Ilie NăstaseMargaret Court
1974Björn BorgChris Evert
1975Björn BorgChris Evert
1976Adriano PanattaSue Barker
1977Guillermo VilasMima Jaušovec
1978Björn BorgVirginia Ruzici
1979Björn BorgChris Evert
1980Björn BorgChris Evert
1981Björn BorgHana Mandlíková
1982Mats WilanderMartina Navratilova[l]
1983Yannick NoahChris Evert
1984Ivan LendlMartina Navratilova
1985Mats WilanderChris Evert
1986Ivan LendlChris Evert
1987Ivan LendlSteffi Graf
1988Mats WilanderSteffi Graf
1989Michael ChangArantxa Sánchez Vicario
1990Andrés GómezMonica Seles
1991Jim CourierMonica Seles
1992Jim CourierMonica Seles
1993Sergi BrugueraSteffi Graf
1994Sergi BrugueraArantxa Sánchez Vicario
1995Thomas MusterSteffi Graf
1996Yevgeny KafelnikovSteffi Graf
1997Gustavo KuertenIva Majoli
1998Carlos MoyáArantxa Sánchez Vicario
1999Andre AgassiSteffi Graf
2000Gustavo KuertenMary Pierce
2001Gustavo KuertenJennifer Capriati
2002Albert CostaSerena Williams
2003Juan Carlos FerreroJustine Henin-Hardenne
2004Gastón GaudioAnastasia Myskina
2005Rafael NadalJustine Henin-Hardenne
2006Rafael NadalJustine Henin-Hardenne
2007Rafael NadalJustine Henin-Hardenne
2008Rafael NadalAna Ivanovic
2009Roger FedererSvetlana Kuznetsova
2010Rafael NadalFrancesca Schiavone
2011Rafael NadalLi Na
2012Rafael NadalMaria Sharapova
2013Rafael NadalSerena Williams
2014Rafael NadalMaria Sharapova
2015Stan WawrinkaSerena Williams
2016Novak DjokovicGarbiñe Muguruza
2017Rafael NadalJeļena Ostapenko
2018Rafael NadalSimona Halep
2019Rafael NadalAshleigh Barty
2020Rafael NadalIga Świątek
2021Novak DjokovicBarbora Krejčíková

Who has won the most French Opens? 

The clay-court specialist Rafael Nadal has won the French Open Men’s Singles a record 13 times while the Most Men’s doubles champion is Roy Emerson 6 times.

The most crowned women’s singles champion at the French Open is Chris Evert (7 times), and the most Women’s doubles champion is Martina Navratilova.

Who won the first French Open?

Ken Rosewall in 1968 became the first Open Era French Open Singles champion, and Nancy Richey became the first French Open Women’s singles Champion.

Who won the 2024 Roland-Garros?

Rafael Nadal won the 2024 Roland-Garros after beating Novak Djokovic in the Final. This was the Spaniard’s 13th French Open Singles win and fourth consecutive win at the Roland Garros Finals.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept