South Africa Cricketers Salary 2023 and their Central Contracts

Cricket South Africa (CSA), the governing body of South Africa Cricket has announced the central contracts along with South Africa cricketers salary for the 2023-22 season. According to reports, 16 men’s cricketers have been awarded their central contracts for 2023. The major source of income for the Proteas cricket players is CSA central contract apart from their T20 competition revenue.

South Africa Central Contracted Players 2023/22

The biggest news for cricket fans is that former South African skipper Faf Du Plessis has been excluded from the CSA central contract for the 2023/22 season. Du Plessis recently announced his retirement from Test cricket but was available for white-ball selection.

Du Plessis will remain eligible to play for South Africa at upcoming ICC events. Henrich Klassen takes place of du Plessis and replaces him in the list.

READ: Indian Cricketers Salary

List of CSA Contract Players for 2023-22 Season

  1. Temba Bavuma (limited-over captain)
  2. Quinton de Kock
  3. Dean Elgar (Test captain)
  4. Beuran Hendricks
  5. Reeza Hendricks
  6. Heinrich Klaasen
  7. Keshav Maharaj
  8. Aiden Markram
  9. David Miller
  10. Lungi Ngidi
  11. Anrich Nortje
  12. Andile Phehlukwayo
  13. Dwaine Pretorius
  14. Kagiso Rabada
  15. Tabraiz Shamsi
  16. Rassie van der Dussen

The upgrade system will continue to function this year as well, which means that the uncontracted players selected for the Proteas during the 2023/22 season can qualify for a performance-based National Contract upgrade.

South Africa Cricketers Salary 2023

Here is the list of South African cricket players central contract, retainer fee and match fee from the previous year.

PlayerRetainer FeeFormat
Temba Bavuma (ODI, T20 Captain)$100,000Test, ODI, T20
Dean Elgar (Test Captain)$100,000Test, T20, ODI
Quinton de Kock$350,000Test, T20, ODI
Reeza Hendricks$100,000T20, ODI
Aiden Markram$100,000Test, ODI, T20
David Miller$250,000Test, T20
Lungi Ngidi$100,000Test
Kagiso Rabada$250,000Test, ODI, T20
Keshav Maharaj$100,000Test, ODI
Van der Dussen$100,000ODI, T20
Anrich Nortje$75,000ODI, T20
Andile Phehlukwayo$75,000ODI
Beuran Hendricks$75,000ODI, T20
Heinrich Klaasen$100,000Test, ODI, T20
Tabraiz Shamsi$75,000Test
Dwaine Pretorius$75,000ODI, T20

Bonus Fee for South African Cricketers

South African cricket players will receive bonus match fees for making individual appearances. The fee for a test match is $4,500 for each test match appearance, $1,200 for each ODI appearance and $800 for each T20 appearance.

South African team has two major tournament in this calendar year- T20 world cup 2023 in India and 2023 T20 World Cup in Australia. The South Africa team will also travel for a full tour for the very first time to Ireland in July 2023.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept