ICC World Test Championship Schedule, Rules & Points System 2019

The International Cricket Council (ICC) had made an announcement regarding the future of Test cricket. ICC officially launched the ICC World Test Championship Schedule 2019-21 on Monday, 29th July 2019. This tournament would be like the World Cups in the ODI and T20I formats, but there will be some differences. The main difference is that this tournament will be over a timespan of nearly 2 years.

All the Test matches that will be played from 1st August 2019 onwards until the 30th April 2022, would fall under the World Test Championship. The Final match of the Championship will be played between the top 2 teams in June 2022 and the winners will receive the title of ICC World Test Champions.

ICC World Test Championship Schedule

Teams

The top 9 teams on the ICC Test team Rankings will be playing in this Championship. They are :

  • Australia
  • Bangladesh
  • England
  • India
  • New Zealand
  • Pakistan
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • West Indies

The teams had been selected on the basis of the Rankings on 31st of March 2018.

ICC World Test Championship Schedule

This Championship will be starting with The Ashes 2019. Aussies will be travelling over to England to play 5 Test matches, starting from 1st of August to mid-September. During mid-August to the end of August in 2019, New Zealand and Sri Lanka would be playing 2 Test matches against each other. These two matches would be played across 2 stadiums in Sri Lanka.

The Indian cricket team will be going over to West Indies and will be playing a number of matches in all the formats, out of which 2 will be in the longest format. They would be played in the last week of August and the first week of September. The next Test match will be played on 2nd October.

South Africa will be touring India for the Gandhi-Mandela series and the Freedom Trophy under the ICC World Test Championship Schedule. The 3 Test matches will be played throughout the month of October. 2 Test matches will be played between India and Bangladesh, in India, from mid-November to end-November. Next, Pakistan will be playing to 2 Test matches in Australia. They will be played from 21st November to 3rd December 2019.

New Zealand will be hosting England for 2 Test matches. These two matches will be overlapping with the matches being played between Pakistan and Australia. Afghanistan and West Indies will be playing their only Test match in India, along with T20I and ODI matches.

Australia will be hosting neighbour New Zealand for 3 Test matches. The Test series will be commencing on 12th of December 2019 and will be concluding on 7th of January 2022.

England’s tour of South Africa will also be taking place from December 2019 and continuing into January 2022. These two teams will be playing 4 Test matches against each other which will be the last fixture of the ICC World Test Championship 2019-20 Schedule. The last Test series that has been declared till date is India’s tour of New Zealand. It will be a 2 match Test series beginning on the 21st of February and ending on the 4th of March 2022.

The ICC World Test Championship 2019-20 Schedule has been arranged in the chronological order of the matches.

The Ashes 2019
MATCH DATE STADIUM TIME
1st Test 01-August, Thursday to 05-August, Monday Edgbaston, Birmingham 10 am GMT / 11 am Local / 3:30 pm IST
2nd Test 14-August, Wednesday to 18-August, Sunday Lord’s, London 11 am GMT / 11 am Local / 3:30 pm IST
3rd Test 22-August, Thurday to 26-August, Monday Headingley, Leeds 12 am GMT / 11 am Local / 3:30 pm IST
4th Test 04-September, Wednesday to 08-September, Sunday Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester 13 am GMT / 11 am Local / 3:30 pm IST
5th Test 12-September, Thursday to 16-September, Monday Kennington val, London 14 am GMT / 11 am Local / 3:30 pm IST
New Zealand tour of Sri Lanka 2019
MATCH DATE STADIUM TIME
1st Test 14-August, Wednesday to 18-August, Sunday Galle International Stadium, Galle 10 am IST & Local / 4:30 am GMT / 4:30 pm NZST
2nd Test 22-August, Thursday to 26-August, Monday P Sara Oval, Colombo 10 am IST & Local / 4:30 am GMT / 4:30 pm NZST
India’s tour of West Indies 2019
MATCH DATE STADIUM TIME
1st Test 22-August, Thursday to 27-August, Tuesday Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, North Sound, Antigua 7 pm IST / 1:30 pm GMT
2nd Test 30-August, Friday to 04-September, Wednesday Sabina Park, Kingston, Jamaica 8 pm IST / 2:30 pm GMT
South Africa Tour of India 2019
MATCH DATE STADIUM TIME
1st Test 02-October, Wednesday to 06-October, Sunday Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium, Visakhapatnam 9:30 am IST / 4 am GMT
2nd Test 10-October, Thursday to 14-October, Monday JSCA International Stadium Complex, Ranchi 9:30 am IST / 4 am GMT
3rd Test 19-October, Saturday to 23-October, Wednesday Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune 9:30 am IST / 4 am GMT
Bangladesh tour of India 2019
MATCH DATE VENUE TIME
1st Test 14-November, Thursday to 18-November, Monday Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore 9:30 am IST / 4 am GMT
2nd Test 22-November, Friday to 26-November, Tuesday Eden Gardens, Kolkata 9:30 am IST / 4 am GMT
Pakistan tour of Australia 2019
MATCH DATE VENUE TIME
1st Test 21-November, Thursday to 25-November, Monday The Gabba, Brisbane 12 am GMT / 5 am PKT / 5:30 am IST
2nd Test 29-November, Friday to 03-December, Tuesday Adeladie Oval, Adelaide 3:30 am GMT / 8:30 am PKT / 9 am IST
England tour of New Zealand 2019
MATCH DATE VENUE TIME
1st Test 21-November, Thursday to 25-November, Monday Bay Oval, Mount Manganui, Tauranga 10 pm GMT (20-November) / 3:30 am IST
2nd Test 29-November, Friday to 03-December, Tuesday Seddon Park, Hamilton 10 pm GMT (28-November) / 3:30 am IST
Afghanistan vs West Indies in India
MATCH DATE VENUE TIME
Only Test 27-November, Wednesday to 01-December, Sunday Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium 4:30 am GMT / 10 am Local & IST
New Zealand tour of Australia 2019-20
MATCH DATE VENUE TIME
1st Test 12-December, Thursday to 16-December, Monday Perth Stadium, Perth 5 am GMT / 10:30 am IST
2nd Test 26-December, Thursday to 30-December, Monday Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne 12 am GMT / 5:30 am IST
3rd Test 03-January, Friday to 07-January, Tuesday Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney 12 am GMT / 5:30 am IST
England tour of South Africa 2019-20
MATCH DATE VENUE TIME
1st Test 26-December, Thursday to 30-December, Monday SuperSport Park, Centurion 8 am GMT / 1:30 pm IST / 10 am Local
2nd Test 03-January, Friday to 07-January, Tuesday Newlands, Cape Town 8:30 am GMT / 2 pm IST / 10:30 am Local
3rd Test 16-January, Thursday to 20-January, Monday St. George’s Park, Port Elizabeth 8 am GMT / 1:30 pm IST / 10 am Local
4th Test 24-January, Friday to 28-January, Tuesday The Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg 8 am GMT / 1:30 pm IST / 10 am Local
India’s tour of New Zealand 2022
MATCH DATE VENUE TIME
1st Test 21-February, Friday to 25-February, Tuesday Basin Reserve, Wellington 4 am IST / 10:30 pm GMT (20-February)
2nd Test 29-February, Saturday to 04-March, Wednesday Hagley Oval, Christchurch 4 am IST / 10:30 pm GMT (28-February)

World Test Championship Venues

  • Lord’s

Also known as Lord’s Cricket Ground.

Location: London, England.

Time Zone: GMT

  • Edgbaston

Location: Birmingham, England.

Time Zone: GMT

  • Headingley

Also known as Headingley Grounds.

Location: Leeds, England.

Time Zone: GMT

  • Emirates Old Trafford

Location: Manchester, England.

Time Zone: GMT

  • Kennington Oval

Also known as The Oval / The AMP Oval / The Foster’s Oval / The Brit Oval.

Location: London, England.

Time Zone: GMT

  • Galle International Stadium

Also known as The Esplanade

Location: Galle, Sri Lanka.

Time Zone : GMT + 5:30

  • P Sara Oval

Also known as Colombo Oval / P.Saravanamuttu Stadium.

Location: Colombo, Sri Lanka.

Time Zone : GMT + 5:30

  • Sir Vivian Richards Stadium

Location: North Sound, Antigua, West Indies.

Time Zone: GMT – 4

  • Sabina Park

Location: Kingston, Jamaica, West Indies.

Time Zone: GMT – 5

  • Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium

Location: Visakhapatnam, India.

Time Zone : GMT + 5:30

  • JSCA International Stadium Complex

Also known as the Jharkhand State Cricket Association Stadium.

Location: Ranchi, India.

Time Zone : GMT + 5:30

  • Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium

Also known as the Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium.

Location: Pune, India.

Time Zone : GMT + 5:30

  • Holkar Cricket Stadium

Location: Indore, India.

Time Zone : GMT + 5:30

  • Eden Gardens

Location : Kolkata, India.

Time Zone : GMT + 5:30

  • The Gabba

Location: Brisbane, Australia.

Time Zone : GMT + 10

  • Adelaide Oval

Location : Adelaide, Australia.

Time Zone : GMT + 9:30

  • Bay Oval

Location: Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, New Zealand.

Time zone : GMT + 12

  • Seddon Park

Also known as Trust Bank Park.

Location: Hamilton, New Zealand.

Time zone : GMT + 12

  • Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium

Location : Dehradun, India.

Time Zone : GMT + 5:30

  • Perth Stadium

Location: Perth, Australia.

Time Zone : GMT + 8

  • Melbourne Cricket Ground

Also known as The MCG / The “G”.

Location: Melbourne, Australia.

Time Zone : GMT + 10

  • Sydney Cricket Ground

Also known as the Sydney Cricket Ground No. 1 / Garrison Ground (1848-1877) / Association Ground.

Location: Sydney, Australia.

Time Zone : GMT + 10

  • SuperSport Park

Also known as SuperSport Centurion / Centurion Park.

Location: Centurion, South Africa.

Time Zone : GMT + 2

  • Newlands

Also known as Sahara Park / Western Province Cricket Club / Newlands ‘A’.

Location: Cape Town, South Africa.

Time Zone : GMT + 2

  • St George’s Park

Also known as Sahara Oval / Crusaders Ground.

Location: Port Elizabeth, South Africa.

Time Zone : GMT + 2

  • The Wanderers Stadium

Also known as Kent Park.

Location: Johannesburg, South Africa.

Time zone GMT + 2

  • Basin Reserve

Location: Wellington, New Zealand.

Time zone : GMT + 12

  • Hagley Oval

Location: Christchurch, New Zealand.

Time zone : GMT + 12

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept